Posted by: dserojales | March 12, 2011

Change…

Lani at 12 years of age

During the process of trying to change my blog I have found myself going through old photos of children and it is interesting to see how much they have grown physically.  Seeing them every day you don’t often notice the changes, but when you look back at photos they can make you chuckle when you see the cute little boy who is nearly a man or the small girl who is growing into a beautiful young lady.  It is a real privilege for me to share their lives and to watch them grow up.

In saying that, this ministry is not always easy… every child has their own personality, some are quiet, conscientious and focussed while others are strong, loud, mischievous and hard-headed.  Yet as you get to know the child, have an understanding of their stories and what they have been through, you learn that experiences cause them to be a certain way, this is more of a coping mechanism.  We have seen some children ‘melt’ and transform as they have come to know love and acceptance as well as learning the difference between right and wrong.  Many children have come to know Jesus as their best friend and this really helps them in dealing with their life situation.

It is true that our kids here are not perfect (who is?!), I’m sure they have caused a few grey hairs and given many new wrinkles 🙂  but I would not want to have been in any other place during the past five years.  What an opportunity it is to have them as part of my lives, I hope I have been able to teach them in some way… but I truly believe that I have learnt more from them and also from the committed team that I work with.


Responses

  1. thanks for putting up and continuing this blog. it inspires me to do good and to help especially the little ones. i hope we get more people like you who can selflessly serve as mothers to those who have lost everything except hope. i have been reading your story ever since you’ve arrived in joyville when you were still using mulitply or msn platform. Do you guys have medical missions done in Joyville?

    • Hi, have I met you before? Do you know The Salvation Army? Where are you from?

      We have not had a medical mission here but it is something I think we could benefit from. We try and attend local ones when they happen, but we have not had any here for quite some time.

      Thanks for your message, I appreciate your support and encouragement.


Leave a comment

Categories