Posted by: dserojales | June 19, 2010

Cutest story EVER!

 
We have two new boys here called King (9) and Kevin (7), they are brothers and will both start together in grade one at school on Monday.  They are very quiet boys, keep to themselves alot and are slowly adjusting to the noise of Joyville and are making some friends.  The youngest, Kevin, keeps staring at me and will follow me around like a little lost puppy at times, he is very cute and doesn’t speak very much.  I have come to realise that their living situation before coming here was quite isolated, they lived in a mountain area and have lived a very simple lifestyle.  My understanding, from experiences over the past two days, is they have only ever met people of two different nationalities: Filipinos and Indians (there are many Indians here, they are called them Bombay).
 
Today when I went outside and Kevin saw me and couldn’t remember my name so he asked one of the children in Tagalog, "what is the name of the white Indian (puting Bombay)"… he has never seen a white person in his life and although I always have people calling me "Americana", he didn’t even know to call me that and figured I was a white Indian!  So cute!
 

Leave a comment

Categories